Diptych Project: People with a Passion

DSC_6471Mom

Evie {UK}
Ann {USA}

Evie on her photo
I thought I would use People with a Passion this week to find out more about my fiance Andrew’s love for cars…

What is your passion and why?
Motorsport is my passion. I love the speed, the sound, the smell and the technology involved. There is also the enjoyment that I get from watching a good race

How long have have you been into cars and what started this passion.
As long as I can remember. I have been going to motor race meetings since I was a very young baby. I think that I was taken to my first race meeting when I was three or four months old. There are pictures of me with a helmet on when I was still in a pushchair!
My dad has a racing car and when I was growing up he would race it and do all the work needed to the car in between races. As I grew up I would help him load and unload the car and change the tires and eventually help change the engine when it needed to be rebuilt. I also spent several years working on trackside as a marshal at the various race meetings my dad was competing at – in all sorts of weather!
I am also one of those crazy people who will get up at all sorts of hours (day or night) to watch a race on the TV

What is your favourite memory associated with this passion?
Oh gosh, there are a number of different stories I have, from watching acar hit the grass bank and the nose of the car ending up buried beneath my feet to standing in a rain storm and getting soaked to the skin despite having 4 layers of clothing on and excellent wet weather gear. However there is one that sticks in the memory. A few years ago my dad was having a very good season and was in contention to win a championship. It went down to the last meeting and my dad thought that he had lost the championship due to a slow final run. We went down to check the times and it turned out that my dad had set a good enough time to win the championship. The look of surprise and then joy on his face was great

What would you tell someone who knows nothing about cars to share your passion.
Like I said there is something special about the speed, the sound and  the smell when you are watching a race. There is a huge amount of skill involved and the technology involved is fantastic as well . Formula 1 may get all the press coverage here in the mainstream UK press but there is so much more going on. Go to a race meeting at your local track and savour the smell, the speed and the excitement – you may like it!

What next for your passion?
I would love to go to the Le Mans 24 Hours sportscar race in France or the Indianapolis 500 race in the USA and the Isle of Man TT motorbike races.

Ann on her photo
This is a portrait is of my lovely mom.  Much of her passion lies with helping others.  My whole life I have seen her avail herself to those in need- to welcome them in to our home, offer them a ride, or volunteer her time to serve them.  Currently, a large part of her time is spent caring for her elderly mother in law.  She has not only graciously accepted this role, but is thankful for the time she has to spend with and care for a woman who has given so much to her over the years.

You can share your photos on The Diptych Project on Facebook.

To see more from Evie, visit her blog at Got Passion?

To see more from Ann, visit her blog at Oh Beauty.

Leave a comment