The Diptych Project: Inspired by Henri Cartier-Bresson

Inspired by Nov 2013DSC_8251

Top: Ann {USA}
Bottom Evie {UK}:

Given the topic this week, we decided to allow ourselves the freedom of choosing a photo from the archives.
Henri Cartier-Bresson is well known for the concept of the ‘defining moment’. The idea that we can take a photo of something that exists for just a moment, and then disappears. Maybe a facial expression, maybe a special combination of lighting when the light peeps out from the clouds.

Ann on her photo:

I chose this photo because it captures a moment of such joy for this family.  You can see the love shared between them because of how freely they laugh together.

And, yes, I absolutely love Evie’s photo (not that I am biased or anything:)!).

Evie on her photo:

For my photo I chose this one I took last year of Ann and her son, Sammy. I had a bunch of photos as I watched Sammy blowing bubbles and none of them quite worked, then I got this one.

I was positioned in exactly the right place.
I chose the correct settings on the camera to have Sammy and the bubbles in focus.
I caught the moment the bubbles were in just the right place.

Yes I love everything about this photo and is probably one of my favourite all time photos that I have ever taken.

 You can share your photos on The Diptych Project on Facebook.

To see more from Ann, visit her blog at Oh Beauty.

To see more from Evie, visit her blog at Got Passion?

2 thoughts on “The Diptych Project: Inspired by Henri Cartier-Bresson

Leave a comment